This site uses cookies to bring you the best experience. Find out more
Skip to main content


The Founders of CBS 

Please read about the Founders of CBS below:

John MacFie

John MacFie

MB ChB, R Nutr, MD, FRCS (Eng), FRCS (Ed), FRCP (Ed) FRCPS (Glas)

Immediate Past President    07764 276801 




John MacFie retired from the NHS in May 2017. He was appointed as Consultant Surgeon to Scarborough in 1986 and from 2012 was employed the York Foundation Teaching Hospital Trust.  He has a personal Chair with the University of Hull and is affiliated to the Academic Surgical Unit, Castle Hill, Cottingham, Hull. He was President of the Association of Surgeons of GB and Ireland  (ASGBI) from 2010 to 2012, was appointed Chairman of the Surgical Forum of GB and Ireland (formerly the Senate of Surgery)  in 2013 and was President of the Federation of Surgical Speciality Associations of UK and Ireland in 2014-17.

He is a General Surgeon with a sub speciality interest in colorectal diseases. His research interests include the management of patients with intestinal failure, inflammatory bowel disease, sepsis and nutritional support therapies.  In recent years he has published extensively on enhanced recovery after surgery, the management of sepsis and ethical dilemmas in the provision of nutritional support.  

John MacFie has received a number of prizes and research grants.  In 1996 he was awarded a Hunterian Professorship by the Royal College of Surgeons of England, was the recipient of the John F Kinney prize for Nutrition and Metabolism in 2001, the British Journal of Surgery editorial  John Farndon prize in 2003 and the Moynihan prize in both 2005 and 2007. He has written over 250 papers and many book chapters. Particular research interests include energy metabolism in surgical patients, the utilisation of fat emulsions, the definition of gut function, the ethics of nutritional support and gut barrier function. 

He has worked in many roles including Regional Advisor and Programme Director for General Surgery in Yorkshire, external examiner for many Medical Schools, and was a member of the Court of Examiners for RCS England. He has supervised numerous higher degrees and was Director of the Postgraduate MSc Programme in the University of Hull. He has served as a Governor of BUPA Foundation and is a registered nutritionist with the British Nutrition Society.

He holds Fellowships with the Royal Colleges of Surgeons of England, Edinburgh and Glasgow as well as the Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh.

He is the inaugural President of the Confederation of British Surgery.



Riaz Agha

Joanna Aldoori

Ahmed Ali-Khan

Keith Allison

Jonathan Armitage

Lindsey Barker

Sherif Bayoumi

Raj Bhatia

Meg Birks

Ian Botterill

Simon Bramhall

Paul Brennan

Naveen Cavale

Bhupal Chitnavis

John Collin

Ian Daniels

Chris Dawson

Philip Drew

Jonathan Ellenbogen

Balgopal Eradi

Adeshina Fawole

Michael Gaunt

Laurence Glancz

John Hartley

Mark Henley

Mark Holland-Elliott

Iain Hunter

Sonna Ifeacho

Venkat Iyer

Shameen Jaunoo

Isabella Karat

Mansoor Khan

Usman Khan

B Nirmal Kumar

Shyam Kumar

Richard Lovegrove

John MacFie

Satish Madhavarajan

Patrick Magennis

Nigel Mercer

Anne Mitchener

Kanwalraj Moar

Ram Moorthy

Fiona Murphy

Antony Narula

Harjeet Singh Narula

Amr Nimer

Nora Nugent

Mark Peter

Andrew Porteous

Purushothama Praveen

Chittoor Rajaraman

Anna Raurell

Matthew Rollin

Walid Sasi

David Selvadurai

Joseph Shalhoub

Aali Sheen

Gurpreet Singh-Ranger

Naomi Slator

Jason Smith

Murray Stewart

Muhammad Tamimy

Michael Wareing

Nicholas Wilson Jones

Daniel Wood

Reza Zadeh